Actors Who Launched Political Parties

  1. M.G. RamachandranMGR-chennai_0_0_0_0

    Image Source

    Popularly known as MGR, was primarily famous as an actor, Director, Producer and politician who had served his native state as the Chief Minister for almost three terms. He was initially a member of the DMK party which has led by the now president of the party, M Karunanidhi. He came out of the party due to differences with Karunanidhi and floated his own party “Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam” later added a prefix “All India” to be renamed as AIADMK. He was the chief minister of Tamil Nadu till 1987. The party is now led by JayaLalitha who has served has chief minister for 3 terms now

  2. N.T. Rama Raooption_2-2

    Image Source

    He was popularly known as NTR. He was an actor, producer and director before entering politics. He had an overwhelming charisma among the people of Andhra Pradesh. He launched his party “Telugu Desam Party” in the year 1982. He contested the assembly elections in the same year and won 199 seats out of 294. He went on to serve as Chief Minister for three terms and was later removed from the post by his son in law N Chandra Babu Naidu who was against giving up the leadership responsibilities to his second wife. Most of the legislators supported Chandra Babu, who went on to become the Chief Minister

  3. Chiranjeevi

    Image Source

    Popularly known as Megastar in Andhra Pradesh, this superstar formed his political party and named it as Praja Rajyam Party.The party was launched with the slogan of social justice and contested the 2009 elections all over the state. The party failed to live up to expectations of the people and could win only 18 seats. He later merged his party with the Congress after 30 months and went on to become the Rajya Sabha member and then the Union Minister of State, Ministry of tourism

  4. VijayKanthVijayakanth

    Image Source

    Vijayraj, who is known by his screen name Vijakanth is the current leader of opposition in the Tamil Nadu state assembly. He launched his political party the “Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam(DMDK)” in 2005 in Madurai. The party contested inn all seats in 2006, winning only 1 seat. Later it contested the Lok Sabha elections and won none. But finally the party was able to win 29 seats in 2011and was officially recognised as the opposition party of the Tamil Nadu.

  5. SarathKumar

    Image Source

    He is currently the South Indian Film Artistes’ Association and has reprised the roles of an actor, Journalist and body builder in his early days. Sarath Kumar was initially associated with AIADMK and was criticised for proximity with Jaya Lalitha. He then joined the DMK and was made the Member of Rajya Sabha which he resigned and joined the AIADMK again along with his wife. He again resigned from AIADMK and late launched his own political party named “All India Samathuva Makkal Katchi (AISMK)” in 2007

  6. Pawan Kalyanparty(1)

    Image Source

    Pawan Kalyan is popular actor in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana known as powerstar. He is the younger brother of Chiranjeevi and has acted in around 19 movies has earned an image of his own in telugu industry. He was reportedly not happy with his brother for merging the Praja rajyam party with congress and had his ties severed with his brother. He launched his political party named “Jana Sena Party” in 2014 but did not contest the elections. He supported the alliance of BJP and TDP which won in Andhra Pradesh but lost in the Telangana state.



Related posts